The Inadequate Mother's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

My new favorite super fast dinner! Garlic Cod!

on January 21, 2012

I was totally lacking in dinner inspiration last night.  Then I remembered a garlic chicken idea I’d pinned on Pinterest from food.com: http://www.food.com/recipe/easy-garlic-chicken-5478.  The only problem was I didn’t have enough chicken on hand to feed the family.  😦  I did have enough cod, so I decided to give it a try.  I mean really, how bad could it be?  The answer- it was freaking fantastic!  The whole family scarfed it down.  I served with a fruit salad, cauliflower and potatoes.  The entire dinner was about 20 minutes start to finish.

What you need:

1/4 cup brown sugar

4 tbsp minced garlic

3 tsp olive oil (I didn’t actually measure this part- I used a couple of glugs 🙂 )

1 lb Cod

What you need to do:

Preheat oven to 500 degrees.  Place a little olive oil in a baking dish and set your fresh or defrosted fish in the pan.  In a sauce pan place olive oil, garlic and brown sugar in pan on medium heat.  Mix together ingredients and keep stirring so it doesn’t burn.  Sugar will bubble up and get kind of syrup-like.  Once it’s taken on a syrup consistency spoon over fish and place pan in oven.  Bake 15-20 minutes or until fish is done.  My pan was starting to burn the syrup on the edges a bit so I transferred my fish to a broiling pan for the last 5 minutes or so.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

