The Inadequate Mother's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Gluten Free Soft Pretzels!!!!

on January 19, 2012

My success with bagels had me thinking about trying pretzels.  Today I decided to give it a try.  Once again I prepared the dough in my bread machine on the dough cycle.  I didn’t use the entire cycle, I just used this to mix the ingredients.  Why you might ask?  Well I don’t have a stand mixer and I recently set my hand mixer on fire trying to make gluten-free whoopie pies.  I’ve already set two Cuisinarts on fire in the past and don’t want to strain the food processor I currently have.  S0, thanks to my Mom’s brilliant suggestion, I’m using my bread machine like a mixer.

This recipe will yield 10-15 pretzels depending on how large you make yours.  I kept these pretzels simple and just sprinkled with salt but you could do lots of different toppings, cinnamon & sugar, garlic, poppy seeds and sesame seeds are just a few ideas to start with.

Ingredients:

2 cups Manini’s Multi-Purpose flour mix (a must in my opinion www.maninis.com)

2 tsp brown sugar

1 tsp sea salt

1 tbsp yeast

1 cup warm water (100-110 degrees)

2 tsp vegetable oil

1 egg white whipped with 1 tsp water

2 tbsp baking soda for boiling water bath

Kosher salt

What to do:

Preheat oven to 200 degrees.  When it reaches temperature turn it off.

Place flour, yeast, brown sugar and sea salt in bread machine and turn on dough cycle to begin mixing.

Slowly stream in water and use a spatula to incorporate the dry ingredients.  You should get a nice dough ball to form.  Once the ball has formed turn your bread machine off.

Pour 2 tsp vegetable oil into a mixing bowl.  Remove your dough ball from the bread machine and roll it in the oil, coating all sides.  Cover with waxed paper and place in warm oven to rise for about an hour.  Dough will almost double in size.

Remove dough from the oven and preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Pull off pieces of dough about 2″ in size and roll into ropes 10-12″ long.  Fold ends of rope over to form a pretzel shape.  Pinch to seal pretzel where it crosses over so it doesn’t fall apart during the water bath.

Next, take a large pan and add about 4″  of water and 2 tbsp baking soda.  Place on stove and bring to a boil.  When the water comes to a rolling boil, place the pretzels in the water, about 4 at a time.

Leave in the water for about 60 seconds and then remove with a slotted spoon.  (Turn after about 30 seconds if both sides of the pretzel are not submersed)  Place pretzels on a baking sheet lined with parchment and sprinkled with corn meal.  Brush pretzels with egg white and sprinkle on Kosher salt.  Place in center of oven and bake 10 minutes or until golden.  Enjoy!

2 responses to “Gluten Free Soft Pretzels!!!!

  1. sal says:

    Yours look much prettier than mine. The dough was too sticky manage. If I make them again I’ll use 1/2 tsp to oil the bowl. Excited for them to come out of the oveen to taste. I agree Maninis is the best-no other GF flour compares!

    • Thanks for the feedback! I agree, try a little more oil. You could also use flour as you roll, chill the dough or use damp hands. Learning to bake GF is a total adventure 🙂 I hope you enjoy the taste! My kids inhaled them. I should have made a double batch 🙂

Leave a Reply

